Friday, October 23, 2015

Giraffes can't dance.

Giraffes Can't Dance - Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
by Giles Andreae
Illustrations by Guy Parker-Rees

"We all can dance", he said, "when we find music that we love"

This book is not really new, but it's a good one. I thought a reminder would be a good idea.

Poor Gerald! His legs get tangled when he tries to dance! He is so ashamed and sad at the animals dance... But the magic of a cricket's violin will make Gerald dance as in a dream!

Giraffes can't dance is written in verse and illustrated in colorful pictures. I'm again posting a book with the message of knowing your own skills to excel in what you are good at, and respect the other because they are not like you, not better or worse, but different. I choose books like this for my kids pretty often since I think being self-confident and not judgmental of other is something they really should learn. 

Age range: 4 to 7 years old.

If you like this book you might be interested in Red, a crayon's story and Exclamation Mark

Wednesday, October 21, 2015

New Pony Day

New Pony Day!: A PONY101 Book - Jen K Blom
 by Jen K. Blom

Imagine the excitement a little girl would feel the day she is gonna choose a pony for herself! She is happy, and nervous, and anxious. She dreams about how the pony would look like, and about the things they will do together.
She knows she will recognize her pony when she sees it. And she is right! The encounter is magic! "Watch out world, I've find him! A pony just for me!" Josie says.

This is a lovely story little ones will enjoy, since it's funny, sweet and easy to relate to. Looking forward to reading more PONY101 books!

Age range: 2 to 5 years old.

About the author: Jen K Blom is an international award-winning author living in Berlin, Germany with her daughter, husband and hairless cat Yoda. NEW PONY DAY is the first book in her PONY101 series. Visit Jen at her website.

I received this copy via "Pump up your book" in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Cooper and the Big Apple

Cooper and the Big Apple - Camille Cohn, Riley Cohn
by Camille Cohen
Illustrated by Riley Cohen

Cooper is so happy living in his small Texas town, that he feels confused when his friend Jennifer tells him they are going to visit New York City. Cooper doesn't know the confusion is just beginning. Why the Big Apple is not an apple? Is he appropriately dressed to visit the royalty at Queens? Why is there no food in the New York Stock Market? He is so hungry!
All this surprises will make Jeniffer and Cooper's trip even more exciting. There are so many things to see an enjoy in the city that never sleeps!
The illustration are a lively combination of drawing, coloring and collage.
This was a funny and enjoyable reading.

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, October 19, 2015

The measly virus

The Measly Virus - Emma Vincent, Laura Watson
by Emma Vincent
Illustrated by Laura Watson

This is such a good book! The message is clear and shown in a funny, playful way. The illustrations are colorful and attractive. The measly virus is nice enough to don't be frightening, but ugly enough to don't look cute.
I've heard so many times my kids being explained how by being vaccinated they can avoid getting badly sick,  but the social aspect of vaccination is rarely addressed. In this story kids can learn about measles, how you catch it, how bad you feel when you are sick with this disease, AND how by getting vaccinated you not only keep yourself healthy, but help to protect people who is too weak or too young to receive the vaccine. It's a wonderful way of being generous and responsible. Kids can be superheroes!

THE MEASLY VIRUS is dedicated to Riley Hughes, a baby who passed away at the beginning of this year after catching Pertussis. Part of the proceeds from this book sales are donated in Hughes memory to Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation to support research on Pertussis disease, and promote vaccination. 

Visit Emma Vincent at her website.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange of a honest review.

Saturday, October 17, 2015

The Little Prince & Letter to a Hostage - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry"Well, I must endure the presence of a few caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies."

The Little Prince
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Friday, October 16, 2015

My house is falling apart.

My House Is Falling Apart - Rachel Schade, Barbara Laney
by Rachel Schade
Illustrated by Barbara Laney

My house is always falling apart, so the title of this book immediately caught my attention.  This is a funny story written in rhyming verse. The illustrations are amusing, and the style is really interesting, since it's not the typical illustration of a typical picture book.  I found them in absolute concordance with the text. I liked to know they were made by the author's grandmother.
So many loopy things happen in this house! No wonder why this little girl is going crazy! My 2 years old son's verdict: "It was funny!" And I'm not surprised. Little ones really enjoy stories where common objects are personified, engaged in weird chit chat, and being silly.
Great option for a "giggling" moment!

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

You can visit and contact Rachel in her facebook and Instagram profiles.

Thursday, October 15, 2015


Lilliput - Alice Ratterree, Sam Gayton
by Sam Gayton
Illustrated by Alice Ratteree

Since he came back to London after his travels, Gulliver only has been ridiculed and laughed at. Nobody believes his stories about small people and talking horses. He needs a proof. That's why Gulliver comes back to Lilliput and kidnaps Lilly, who would be the proof he needs. Now they live in an attic in London while Gulliver writes a book about his travels, and Lilly tries endlessly to escape and come back to Lilliput.
This is the start point for Lilliput, a very well written fantastic story about friendship, perseverance and hope.
The book proved to be a page turner. The tension in the last chapters is amazing. I don't want to spoil the story, so I'm not giving any details here, but everything came perfectly together at the end. It would do a great movie.
I also loved the pictures. Ratteree is such a talented illustrator! They really helped to build the sense of time and space.There are many illustrations in the book, and I wish there were even more!
I'm glad this author entered my radar range.

Age suggestion: 10 to 12 years old. (I've seen it recommended for the 8 to 10 age range, but I would say some parts are kind of "intense", so I decided to pull the range a little up)

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

The Lion and the Mouse

The Lion and the Mouse - Jerry Pinkney
Illustrated by Jerry Pinkney

Pinkney's wordless version of Aaesop's falbe The lion and the mouse is incredibly beautiful!
This fable is well known by all of us. The lion decides to spare the mouse's life after she perturbed him when he was napping. This favor will be returned when the lion is caught in a trap and the mouse frees him.
It's a beautiful story where the tiny mouse and the king of the animals show to be equally vulnerable when  in danger, and equally great in kindness.

The illustrations are magnificent and impressive. The message is definitively well expressed through the pages.
I'm really interested in take a look at other Pinkney's works.

Age range: 4 to 99 years old!

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

I don't want to be a frog.

I Don't Want to Be a Frog - Dev Petty
By Dev Petty
Illustrated by Mike Boldt

This frog would rather be something cute and warm like a pig or a cat. Being a frog is to wet and slimy. His father will patiently explain once and again why he can't be a bunny... or an owl...
But of course the little frog will find out by himself the advantages of being a frog. For example not being part of some frightening individual's food chain!

Funny story with two adorable characters. It is completely written in dialog form, and speech bubbles are used. The pictures are attractive, colorful without being strident. 

Age range: 4 to 7 years old.

Monday, October 12, 2015

Sidewalk Flowers

Sidewalk Flowers - JonArno Lawson, Sydney Smith
by JonArno Lawson
and Sydney Smith

Sidewalk Flowers in a wordless story, and I don't think is a good idea to put it into too many words here. But I wanted to bring this book into your attention because it really worth a try. This story is a tribute to the small gestures that make big differences.

Friday, October 9, 2015


Exclamation Mark - Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Tom Lichtenheld
Exclamation Mark
by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
and Tom Lichtenheld

Exclamation Mark knew from the beginning he was different from the Periods. He tried very hard to act like them, but no matter what, he always stood up. And that of course made him feel worse. But one day he met the talkative Question Mark. He asked so many questions Exclamation Mark felt dizzy. And he needed to SHOUT! At this moment it was clear to him all the potential he had inside. So many "Happy birthday!", "Congratulations!" and "Way to go!" have been trapped in his throat for so long. It felt good to be himself!

! is a funny story about how everyone is different and with different talents, and the importance of knowing ourselves and respect others.

Age range: 4 to 6 years old.

If you like this book, you might be interested in Red, a crayon's story

Thursday, October 8, 2015


Waiting - Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes
by Kevin Henkes

I couldn't get into this book the first couples of times I read it. The illustrations are absolutely lovely. The kind of picture you feel like touching the page. But at the beginning I couldn't see much more beyond that. Only after reading it a few times to my kids I started to cherish the message.
Waiting is such a hard thing to do! Especially for the little ones is just pointless torture. The characters in this story spend their time just waiting by the window. From their spot they can see clouds shapes, a rainbow, the day, the night, the changing seasons. There's a kind of calm the book transmits, and that's what my kids enjoy of leafing it through so many times.

Age range: 3 to 5 years old.

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

The New Small Person

The New Small Person - Lauren Child
by Lauren Child

This is a lovely story of a boy who one day finds out a new small person has come to stay and be part of his life.
Elmore Green has everything a kid could want: his own bedroom, toys, jelly beans, and the exclusivity of being the funniest, cleverest and most adorable person in the house. When the small new person appears all of this is put at risk. Everybody ask him to be patient because the small person is small, but the truth is that the situation only gets worse as time passes and he grows up.
Luckily one night the small person has the chance to do something nice for Elmore. This will be the first of many good moments the kids will enjoy together. The small person will actually be Albert from now on. Elmore discovers sharing is much better. Orange jelly beans are beyond discussion, though!

Age range: 3 to 6 years old.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Eye to Eye. How animals see the world.

Eye to Eye: How Animals See The World - Steve Jenkins
by Steve Jenkins

Who would have said it was so many interesting facts to learn about eyes?
Eyes can be as simple as a light-sensitive group of cells, or as complex as to be able to see from a distance of two miles away.
There's an animal which eyes are as big as basketballs.
Another one has eyes bigger than its brain.
Certain insect not only has eight legs, but eight eyes too.
And a well known animal we all have seen or heard about has built-in goggles to be able to see underwater.
I won't spoil the names of these incredibly sighted creatures. You'll have to discover them with you own eyes!

Age range: 8 to 12 years old.

Monday, October 5, 2015


Journey - Aaron Becker
 by Aaron Becker

I would give this book 10 stars if it were possible!

The girl feels lonely. Everybody seems to be busy.The only one who can not find something interesting to do is her. Nothing attracts the girl... at least no in this world... but what about in an imaginary one? With a red crayon she draws a red door to a magic world.
The pictures immediately become colorful and more dynamic.  In the first pages we could feel the girl boredom, but as soon as she goes through the red door the time seems to fly while she is having fun, dreaming other worlds.
Her dreams are full of beauty, adventure and danger too. And in her dreams she finds a friend, not only to share her dreams, but to enjoy in this world too.

It's a bad idea to talk to much about this book... it's much better to let the pictures talk, and even sing!

Age range: 4 to 99 years old!